Rockland County Journal

Rockland County Journal logo
Title:
Rockland County Journal (3 August 1850 - 17 November 1900)
Available online:
Aug 3, 1850 - Jun 14, 1862;
Jul 25, 1863 - Dec 31, 1892;
Jan 12, 1895 - Dec 25, 1897;
Jan 6, 1899 - Nov 17, 1900;
(2303 issues)
Region:
Rockland
Copyright Status:
Public Domain
Contributing Libraries:
Nyack Public Library

The Rockland County Journal was founded on August 3rd, 1850 by William G. Haeselbarth. The motto on the masthead was "Light More Light," a strong reflection of the enlightenment principles on which the United States was founded and also thought to be the last words of the German writer and philosopher Goethe.

In 1867 Haeslebarth sold his paper to John Charleton. In the year 1878, Frank Green wrote a series of twenty-four articles for the paper entitled "Notes on Nyack" which were drawn largely from recollections by the older residents of the community. In 1886 he published his History of Rockland County and that same year John Charlton sold the newspaper to Green. On April 1, 1886 Frank B. Green took over as proprietor and editor and contributed two columns each week which he entitled "Jottings from the County and Elsewhere." Green died in October of 1887.

The next editor and proprietor of the newspaper was Adam C. Haeselbarth who owned the newspaper until January 1891 when the Helmle Brothers (George B., Joseph P., and William H.) took over the paper. In 1915 when the newspaper ceased publication it was published by The Journal Publishing Company, a New York Corporation - M.B. Patterson was the President and Editor.

The Rockland County Journal was a weekly newspaper since its inception in 1850. Daily newspapers began publishing in Nyack in the late 19th Century and the Rockland County Journal's daily counterpart, The Nyack Evening Journal (1889-1928), undoubtedly had a hand in the weekly's demise.

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Wednesday, 1 July 1891
2 Thursday, 2 July 1891
3 Friday, 3 July 1891
4 Saturday, 4 July 1891
1 issue
5 Sunday, 5 July 1891
6 Monday, 6 July 1891
7 Tuesday, 7 July 1891
8 Wednesday, 8 July 1891
9 Thursday, 9 July 1891
10 Friday, 10 July 1891
11 Saturday, 11 July 1891
1 issue
12 Sunday, 12 July 1891
13 Monday, 13 July 1891
14 Tuesday, 14 July 1891
15 Wednesday, 15 July 1891
16 Thursday, 16 July 1891
17 Friday, 17 July 1891
18 Saturday, 18 July 1891
1 issue
19 Sunday, 19 July 1891
20 Monday, 20 July 1891
21 Tuesday, 21 July 1891
22 Wednesday, 22 July 1891
23 Thursday, 23 July 1891
24 Friday, 24 July 1891
25 Saturday, 25 July 1891
1 issue
26 Sunday, 26 July 1891
27 Monday, 27 July 1891
28 Tuesday, 28 July 1891
29 Wednesday, 29 July 1891
30 Thursday, 30 July 1891
31 Friday, 31 July 1891