The [Bronxville] News

The [Bronxville] News logo
Title:
The [Bronxville] News (25 April 1912 - 26 September 1913)
Available online:
Apr 25, 1912-Sept 26, 1913
(75 issues)
Region:
Westchester
Copyright Status:
Public Domain
Contributing Libraries:
Bronxville History Center

The News, a magazine style news weekly, began publication in Bronxville, NY on April 25, 1912. It was owned by more than 20 of “the best known and most prominent men in Bronxville, each of whom has only a comparatively small interest.” The publisher, the Eastchester News Company, announced that it had “no axes to grind,” was “absolutely free of any entanglements and it is not a personal organ.” Its purpose was “to promote and maintain the prosperity and happiness of Bronxville, Scarsdale and Tuckahoe.” By its fourth issue, The News had become the official newspaper of Bronxville, supplanting The Bronxville Review, controlled by the family of William Lawrence (the father of suburban Bronxville), and taking pride that it was “not a ‘one man’ paper.”
The short-lived News concentrated on village infrastructure, most particularly the need to eliminate Bronxville’s “deadly” railroad grade crossing, and took issue with positions taken by the Lawrence family. In its first months, the paper profiled prominent villagers and government officials, including current and former presidents (mayors), including Frank R. Chambers, William P. H. Bacon, Alfred E. Smith, Leonard Kebler and H. Ward Leonard. Bronxville artists were also featured: Will H. Low, A. Phimister Procter, G. H. Smillie, Walter Clark, William Smedley and Hobart Nichols.
After 17 months, The News ceased publication asserting that it had “fulfilled the purpose for which it was organized,” but noting that “local papers of this kind do not pay expenses, and must be supported by those who own them.”

Sun
Mon
Tue
Wed
Thu
Fri
Sat
1 Thursday, 1 August 1912
2 Friday, 2 August 1912
1 issue
3 Saturday, 3 August 1912
4 Sunday, 4 August 1912
5 Monday, 5 August 1912
6 Tuesday, 6 August 1912
7 Wednesday, 7 August 1912
8 Thursday, 8 August 1912
9 Friday, 9 August 1912
1 issue
10 Saturday, 10 August 1912
11 Sunday, 11 August 1912
12 Monday, 12 August 1912
13 Tuesday, 13 August 1912
14 Wednesday, 14 August 1912
15 Thursday, 15 August 1912
16 Friday, 16 August 1912
1 issue
17 Saturday, 17 August 1912
18 Sunday, 18 August 1912
19 Monday, 19 August 1912
20 Tuesday, 20 August 1912
21 Wednesday, 21 August 1912
22 Thursday, 22 August 1912
23 Friday, 23 August 1912
1 issue
24 Saturday, 24 August 1912
25 Sunday, 25 August 1912
26 Monday, 26 August 1912
27 Tuesday, 27 August 1912
28 Wednesday, 28 August 1912
29 Thursday, 29 August 1912
30 Friday, 30 August 1912
1 issue
31 Saturday, 31 August 1912